• 01. 20.000 Meilen unter dem Mond 02. Hausmann
    03. Pusch
    04. Der Monat
    05. Bewegung
    06. Aufgehoben
    07. Das Rasen

    STATION 17

    Oui Bitte

    [engl] After a period of distance Station 17 just wanted to stand in a room together again and make some music, so they drove out of Hamburg to a remote site in the hills of the Hohe Geest in Schleswig-Holstein and played some new song sketches together – all day and late into the night. Afterwards they wanted to play the results live at a concert in Fabrik, a venue in Hamburg. No one in the band expected that the sessions would result in an entire album, but the music told them once again: what had been created here in the radiance of the moment could not be reproduced. A moment of happiness for the band collective. "Oui Bitte", Station 17’s 11th album had been born – quite unexpectedly, between pool and trout pond. It shows again and par excellence that Station 17's is a pleasure to listen to. Why is that? You can either follow the intuitive reference play, the traces of genres (so to speak: listening with knowledge), or you can be geared to the dense interplay between driving, elegiac rhythms and a flowing, aesthetic stream of consciousness, either lying down or dancing with a liberated mind and body. Everything seems possible in the boundlessness of their music. The seven songs are irrigating these candid invitations into a flowing aesthetical stream bundling them into a pleasure which lets you forget your own disposition. “Oui Bitte” shows Station 17 as a band of experts in a kind of acoustic transcendence. Their music tenderly forces you to engage in all of this at the same time. Already in the field recordings of the Elbe shore with which “20.000 Meilen unter dem Mond” begins you are being offered a pact: Hand over all control to the music, swim out to the open sea and be thrown back to yourself – just so you can indulge in the sonic waves. That prelude seems programmatic: In the following 40 minutes you are being carried along, you are being amused, catapulted, earthed, moved. “Oui Bitte” manages to douse the resonance body, to drift away, to wash ashore, to take off. The landing: always soft! The biggest continuity is the positive vibe, a reliable air host, pleasant, more shell than irritation. Station 17 do not produce cracks in the dam, they are smoothing out riverbeds. “Bewegung” then appears as the highlight of the album, a manifestation of the idea Station 17. Move your mind and move your body, as Birgit Hohnen says here, a deceased companion of the group who is being projected into the present of the song through a sample. With your eyes closed this track allows you to take off meditatively. And then there’s the latent melancholy which finds its way in. This futuristic music of the past stays warm, stays cordial, stays inviting: to the sonic utopia of a more beautiful world which has already been established by this album at this point and by this band in any case. In the end the record takes its time, a wide room is designed, meters are being covered. In the calmness of the last song a contradiction pops up: “Das Rasen” (“The rushing”). But the contradiction dissolves: If you listen closely, you are gliding through the high grass (“Rasen”) on which to lie down and listen to “Oui Bitte” invites. Yes, please: Repeat!

Einsortiert unter

Mehr von »STATION 17«

  • cover

    STATION 17

    Oui Mixe

    [engl] Remix albums have already become a tradition in the 30-year history of the collective: In 2001, the legendary label Mute Records released the album "Mikroprofessor" with remixes by DJ Koze, Thomas Feh

Mehr vom Label »Bureau B«

  • cover


    Moods and Dances 2021

    [engl] Revered Hamburg musician, synthesist and DJ RVDS joins the Bureau B ranks with the meditative and mellifluous sounds of ‘Moods and Dances 2021’ - a musical present from the future past.
  • cover



  • cover



    [engl] When the Welttraumforscher (world dream explorer) started their journey on July 14, 1981, it was not foreseeable that it would last so long. For over 40 years now, Christian Pfluger from Zurich has be
  • cover


    Where The Rabbit Sleeps (Compiled by Ralf Köster)

    [engl] Compiled by Ralf Köster, DJ and curator of Hamburg’s Golden Pudel Club, "Where The Rabbit Sleeps" is an extensive collection of tracks by Sensorama, a project comprising Jörn Elling Wuttke and Rom
  • cover


    Die Rückkehr der echten Menschheit (1981 - 1990)

    [engl] This first Bureau B retrospective devoted to Die Welttraumforscher covers the Swiss project's early creative period from 1981 to 1990. The eccentric, heartwarming pop songs now sound like document
  • cover


    Kenne Keine Töne

    [engl] After "Die Drift", "Kenne Keine Töne“ is the second studio album by the Vienna-based artist Conny Frischauf. Moving between pop and experiment, she embarks on a search for the momentary, the transi
Zeige alles vom Label »Bureau B«